An Investigation: Where Did This Rand Paul Story Actually Take Place?

“So I’m down here and I’m in line for barbecue…” “Sen. Paul’s BBQ story is clearly a joke…something that everyone other than BuzzFeed reporters seem to understand,” a Paul spokeswoman said.

""

Scott Olson / Getty Images

Speaking in Texas in 2014, Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul relayed an incident that he said occurred at a barbecue in the Lone Star state.

 

“The one thing Texas has that’s hard for the rest of the country to compete with is barbecue. So I’m down here and I’m in line for barbecue and the guy in front of me has got two big plates of barbecue. And I’m like, ‘You’re not going to live very long eating like that.’ And he looked at me and he said, ‘Well my granddad lived to be 105.’ And I said, ‘Well your granddad didn’t live to be 105 eating like that.’ And he said, ‘No, my granddad lived to be 105 by minding his own business.'”

 

View Video ›

buzzfeed-video1.s3.amazonaws.com


View Entire List ›

Leave a Reply

